Update model and create different variants

Hello!

I am pretty new to D5 render and I would like to create different variants (slightly different models exported from Archicad), but all with the same environment and materials).
Does anyone have an idea how to do it?
If I understand here correctly only models I can only update models that are connected with Archicad directly (with synch).

Do you have any suggestion on how to create different variants in D5 render?
I can imagine if could update all models exported from D5 render, I could create different variants in Archicad in different Archicad files and then just export different variants and somehow switch between variants in D5 render. - I used Lumion before and I am a bit biased.

Does D5 render have any option for different variants actually? What would be the approach?

Thank you!

Hi tjasa.kogovsek93.
I’ve always done it with Archicad, with synchronization. when I have a new project, and I have used more or less the same materials, all I do is synchronize with a project that already has settings ready, I open the project files that have everything ready in D5 even some furniture libraries, then I open archicad with a new project it synchronizes it with D5 open with the old one and the files will open with the new one with the settings of the old one. But you always have to work there, with cameras because the environment is different.
But be careful, when you do it and the merger is complete, make sure to save it with the name of the new project, in the appropriate folder of the new project

1 Like

Hi, great, thank you this is actually a great advice!
I will keep that in mind, but I am also trying to find a way how to implement D5 render in our current workflow.
In our team we sometimes create different archicad variants, developed from different people.
In Lumion I would simply join all the work and import each archicad model in one Lumion file and just switch variants with the layer combination.