Material that is both emissive and transparent?

Hi I am trying to model some outdoor string lights. Is there a way to make the bulbs both transparent, so that the point light inside illuminates the scene and emissive, to give the bulb some glow. It seems I can only do one or the other, but I am very new to D5. Thanks for any help.

Hi Kurtm83
In this case, just go and get the material inside the light bulb and give it brightness and the casing remains transparent glass.
It is difficult to do it from D5, to move more easily you have to do it with the graphics program you are using which is synchronized you get there first.
I hope I have helped you

Like these bulbs, the casing is glass with tungsten filaments inside that lights up. And right there you have to give him luminous material, you can give it whenever you want, here on the image that I put and 250

This is a D5 object already set

But I saw that you are not D5 pro, I think you can not download it.
But you can find it on SketchUp sites, you upload it to D5 program as object :slightly_smiling_face: :slightly_smiling_face: :slightly_smiling_face:

Thanks for all that. I’d like to use the custom one I’ve created in Rhino. Maybe I’m not understanding, but I created an interior sphere with an emissive mat inside of the glass outer sphere, but when I sync to D5 it shows up as only the transparent outer sphere

ok i got the inner sphere to show up in D5. Not sure if it was changing the material to a random plaster or unlinking and relinking D5, which seems to help solve things when it’s not behaving, but now i can’t figure out how to select the inner sphere

It doesn’t work, on any program that uses sphere and inside a high sphere, you don’t get the effect you want
By logic you know how a light bulb works, I’ll post it to you, that way you will have the desired effect.
Tip, you know you can import SKP objects.