D5 newbie Questions

Greetings Everyone,

I’m new to D5 and have been exploring the program for the past couple of days and have a few questions, if someone would be kind enough to give some advice.

Don’t know if this matters or not but my two primary pieces of software are Rhino3D and Blender and I typically render with the Octane plugin.

First of all, D5 is amazing and I’m loving it. 3D visualization is a large part of my job and the animation requests are killing me time wise so D5 I believe is going to make me be able to sleep again cutting out the long animation render hours with the current software.

1. The import .abc feature is one of the main reasons I chose D5 over other options. However, I am having issues with the imports. They do not import to scale or in the correct location (I’m exporting the .abc files from Blender. I’ve imported the same .abc file into Octane Standalone (my primary render engine) and they import correctly. This could be a units issue but I’m not sure what units to export as to D5 if that is the case. Anyone else have this issue or am I doing something wrong?

2. Secondly, the materials do not come over with the .abc files and there doesn’t seem to be a way to assign materials within D5 to .abc imports – is there? When I click on the imported .abc object there is no material option with the D5 inspector.

3. HDRI’s are mirrored when a custom HDRI is used. For example, text on streets signs are backwards. Is there a setting to fix this?

4. I’m evaluating on the free version but am planning on upgrading to the Pro Version to unlock more assets. Will upgrading to Pro also allow me to use the scattering tools within D5 on custom objects? For example, I’d like to be able to import my own plants, grasses, etc and scatter them within D5. I use Rhino Nature within Rhino for scattering but in order to get the scattered objects over to D5 I have to bake them which results in MASSIVE file sizes.